Connect with us

E-Business

NITDA Plans Review of Nigeria’s Digital Transformation Plan

Published

on

Kindly share this post

Mr Kashifu Inuwa Abdullahi, new Director-General/CEO of National Information Technology Development Agency (NITDA) has unfolded plans for the digital transformation of the Nigerian government on his watch at the Federal IT regulatory agency.

Abdullahi, who hopes to leave a legacy of digital transformation on completion of his duty at NITDA disclosed this in a tell-all interview that made the cover of the inaugural issue of eGovernance Nigeria Magazine, that debuts March 2020 from the stables of Technology Times Media Limited.

The Federal IT regulatory chief says the invitation extended him by Dr Isa Pantami, the immediate past DG of NITDA, who was later appointed Minister of Communications and Digital Economy, prepared him for his current position.

According to him, since coming into NITDA under Pantami, he played a crucial role in the development of a strategic plan built on seven pillars to turn around the Nigerian IT sector, that also identified ICT as a key enabler for economic diversification.

“I was very instrumental in implementing the strategy. So the strategy was developed for the agency for 2017-2020 and the strategy was about seven key pillars”, Abdullahi says.

“In 2016, my mentor and boss, Dr Isa Pantami, Minister of Communication and Digital Economy, was appointed by the President as Director-General of National Information Technology Development Agency (NITDA), and he requested for me to join his team as Technical Assistant.

“Then I joined NITDA in March 2017, which I worked with him to develop the strategy for the agency on how to transform the Nigerian IT sector. That time was very formative to my career because it exposed me to a lot of challenges in terms of administration and dealing with different stakeholders”, the NITDA chief says.

According to him, “I was the one coordinating mostly the activities while he was the DG. As the Technical Assistant, he delegates a lot of things to me.

“I think that period was very formative to my career and that helped me to succeed him because my belief is when you work with someone and you make that person shine, if he gets promoted, definitely he would lift you up. I never dreamt of being the DG. I worked with him and I gave him my support 100 per cent. I think that’s why he recommended me to succeed him as the DG/CEO of NITDA.

The NITDA DG/CEO says the seven pillars include: regulation to level the playing field and removes obstacles to business; capacity building to function in a knowledge-based economy; government digital services to foster an interactive government encouraging contributions by citizens and delivery of service; local content to encourage delivery of tailor-made tech solutions for local needs; digital inclusion to promote infrastructure for citizens to access e-services; digital job creation and cybersecurity to protect Nigeria’s technology assets.

“These are the seven key pillars we have been working on since 2017 and we are going to review it at the end of this year to benchmark what we have achieved and come up with a new strategy for the agency”, the NITDA DG/CEO told eGovernance Nigeria Magazine.

Mr Shina Badaru, Founder/Chairman of Technology Times, the Nigerian technology industry media, events, and business services company says the introduction of eGovernance Nigeria Magazine advances the organisation’s mission to showcase Nigeria’s growing contributions to the global ICT industry.

“eGovernance Nigeria Magazine will be the voice of digital transformation of information exchange and delivery of government services by the Nigerian public sector, and is here to fill a gap as a provider of news, information and analysis of key developments shaping e-government and the broader public technology ecosystem”, he says.

According to Badaru, eGovernance Nigeria Magazine leverages online, video, digital and newsletter delivery platforms to advance the Technology Times founding vision of creating online, print, digital, events, rankings, awards and business platforms trusted by millions across Nigeria, Africa and beyond.


Kindly share this post
Continue Reading
Comments

E-Business

Mega Deals as Konga Freedom Sales Goes Live Today

Published

on

Kindly share this post

All is set for the 2020 edition of the Konga Freedom Sales, an annual promotion by the foremost composite e-Commerce giant targeted at celebrating Nigeria’s independence anniversary.

Specifically, the Konga Freedom Sales goes live on Monday, September 21, 2020 and will run until Friday, October 9, 2020 across Nigeria.

The promotion will see the first week from September 21 – 27 focus on giving Nigerians the best prices and unbeatable discounts unmatched anywhere else in the market, with customers also urged to check prices on Konga before making any purchases. In addition, Konga’s customers are in line to benefit from three flash sales during the week.

From September 28, the week which coincides with the memorable occasion of Nigeria’s 60th Independence Anniversary, Konga will offer all classes of shoppers a unique opportunity to enjoy rock-bottom prices and mega deals on a wide variety of genuine products carefully selected by Konga to mark the auspicious celebration.Among these are 60 special products for each day of the promotion in line with the commemoration of Nigeria’s 60thindependence anniversary.

Also, the promotion will run across multiple channels including the Konga website, chain of retail stores located nationwide and via the Konga Bulk platform.

The eagerly anticipated Konga Freedom Sales will see the e-Commerce giant make available heavily discounted products of up to 50% off from multiple categories such as Computers & Accessories, Home & Kitchen, Electronics, quality Fast Moving Consumer Goods (FMCG), Power Solutions, Phones & Tablets, Drinks & Groceries, among many others. Further raising the excitement for the Konga Freedom Sales is the fact that Konga has positioned the promotion as one with which to celebrate Nigerians as the country hits its Diamond Jubilee.

Consequently, the management of Konga has revealed its intention to make it a promotion to remember for every customer.

‘‘Nigeria will be marking its Diamond Jubilee on October 1st. It is a momentous anniversary as 60 years is not a mean feat,’’ disclosed Co-Chief Executive Officer, Konga Group, Nick Imudia.

‘‘In view of this, we have decided to make this year’s edition of the Konga Freedom Sales a special one to celebrate all Nigerians.

‘‘Therefore, we have carefully selected all the products that will go on sale from Monday.

“Our motivation is to make it a memorable occasion for all Nigerians by helping them save money on genuine products across our online platform and retail stores nationwide.

“We encourage everyone to go online at www.konga.com or visit the nearest Konga store or leverage Konga Bulk from Monday to partake in the celebration of Nigerians through the Konga Freedom Sales,’’ he urged.

Meanwhile, an array of world class brands has partnered with Konga for the promotion. These include the likes of HP, Samsung, Lenovo, PZ Cussons, Dell EMC, Infinix, iTEC, Zinox, Tecno, Unilever and many more.

The Konga Freedom Sales goes live nationwide from Monday, September 21 until Friday, October 9, 2020.


Kindly share this post
Continue Reading

E-Business

ICANN Launches Pandemic Internet Access Reimbursement Program Pilot

Published

on

Kindly share this post

The Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN) has announced the Pandemic Internet Access Program Pilot for ICANN69, following the ICANN Board’s resolution in support of the pilot program.

To facilitate participation during the remote Public Meeting, the pilot program offers community members who have limited Internet capacity, financial assistance to increase their Internet bandwidth during ICANN69.

Reimbursement amounts of up to USD 60 will be provided to eligible applicants who purchase additional Internet bandwidth (capacity or data limits) for the duration of the month or billing cycle for October 2020.

The services must be rendered by a business entity or Internet service provider, specifically for Internet or cellular data service. The provider must also provide digital or paper documentation of the upgrade costs.

Interested community members must apply in advance of ICANN69 and those who meet the eligibility requirements will be selected to participate. The application deadline is Friday, 2 October 2020 at 23:59 Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).


Kindly share this post
Continue Reading

E-Business

FG Launches Central Database for Stolen Asset Tracing

Published

on

Kindly share this post

Federal government has launched a Central Database under the Asset Tracing, Recovery and Management Regulations (ARTM), 2019 and the Central Criminal Justice Information System (CCJIS) under the National Anti-Corruption Strategy (NACS) 2017 – 2011 to assist in the fight against corruption.

FG Launches Central Database for Stolen Asset Tracing

Mr Abubakar Malami, AGF

Mr Abubakar Malami, attorney-general of the federation (AGF) and minister of Justice, at the launch in Abuja, said the database will ensure uniformity of process, access and information feeding to deepen transparency and accountability in the management of recovered assets.

To ensure compliance, he said his office is developing legislation for the full implementation and operation of the CCJIS.

“We will work together to establish and re-enact transparency and accountability in governance and management of our resources which we have committed to do by way of strengthening International Cooperation of our membership of Open Government Partnership,” he said.

In his speech, Mr Femi Gbajabiamila, speaker of the House of Representatives, represented by Mrs Ugonna Ozurigbo, chairman, House Committee on Justice, said the regulation on Asset Tracing, Recovery and proper management of proceeds of crime was signed on October 24, 2019, and took effect from November 1, 2019, replaced the proceeds of Crime Regulation of 2012.

The new regulation titled Asset Tracing, Recovery and Management Regulations 2019 empowers the AGF to take charge of the custody and management of all final forfeited assets, approval and appointment of asset managers and operating and maintaining a database for the records of all recovered assets within and outside Nigeria.

He said, the AGF’s office, under the new regulation, is also required to coordinate inter-agency investigations into recovery matters within and outside Nigeria from all law enforcement agencies whose law empowers them to undertake recoveries and maintaining a depository for all forfeiture orders issued by the Nigeria courts and courts outside Nigeria.

Asset Tracing, Recovery and Management, according to the Speaker, is a core value of good governance and its effective management will serve as a deterrent to would-be fraudulent minded individuals who may find themselves in public offices.

According to him, states resources must not be allowed to be stolen but if that happened by fraudulent individuals, efforts must be taken to trace the proceed, recover same and manage for the interest of the generality of the people.

“When the proceeds of crime are traced and recovered but again looted by government officials, I dare to say such act amounts to the crime of tertiary capacity and must be avoided.

“Assets not accounted for are assets lost; loss of assets undervalues the economic potential of a country and will negatively impact on the net worth of a country. Accordingly, Asset Tracing Recovery and Management is a panacea to rekindling of the value system of a nation,” the Speaker noted.

 


Kindly share this post
Continue Reading

Trending